Author Archives: Ingrid Baukhol

Business leaders mobilize for sustainability

2017 Honouree & Prime Minister for news

40 executives from the Norwegian business sector, recently in China, have given promise to work to meet the UN’s sustainability goals in recent days.

From left to right: Murad Al-Katib, Durreen Shahnaz, Erna Solberg and Harley Seyedin

From left to right: Murad Al-Katib, Durreen Shahnaz, Erna Solberg and Harley Seyedin

Last year, the Oslo-based foundation, Business for Peace went on to ensure that business leaders across the world promised to lead their companies so that sustainability goals could be met.

During the roundtable conference at Business for Peace on May 16th, Prime Minister Erna Solberg emphasized that business is the “muscle” in the cooperation to achieve the UN’s sustainability goals.

Prime Minister Erna Solberg leads the UN’s Advocates group to promote sustainability goals. The targets will be redeemed by 2030.

Famous names

The Virgin boss Richard Branson and the top manager of Unilever Paul Polman declared their promise in 2016 and in the past year several hundred new leaders, both international and Norwegian, have followed up. Among them are Statoil Eldar Sætre, Egil Hogna in Sapa and Svein Tore Holsether in Yara.

The business leaders who have signed up to now represent companies that have a total turnover of over NOK 5700 billion, with more than 2 201 000 employees.

China Support

Following Erna Solberg’s visit to China, along with a large business delegation, last week, alongside with Head of Innovation Norway, Anita Krohn-Traaseth, took an initiative to gather support for the sustainability promise from the around 300 leaders who participated on the trip. So far, 40 leaders have given the promise. 

Gro speak

In her speech at the opening of the Business for Peace Round Table Conference, Erna Solberg highlighted the Brundtland Commission’s report “Our Common Future”, which celebrates 30 years in 2017. The theme of this year’s conference is the Brundtland report. Gro Harlem Brundtland helds the speech “State of the Union between Business and Society” at Oslo Business for Peace Award Ceremony in Oslo City Hall. This year’s prize winners are Elon Musk, Durreen Shahnaz, Harley Seyedin and Murad Al-Katib. The award winners are selected by an independent committee of Nobel winners in  both peace and economics.


Additional Comments and Contact Information

Acting Communications Director, Business for Peace, Elisabeth Skarsbø Moen, +47 9133 5103

How are Norwegian companies affected internationally by increasing geopolitical tensions ?

Nobel debate for news

Thursday April 27th, Business for Peace Foundation hosted a panel debate together with the Nobel Peace Center as a run-up to the 2017 Business for Peace Summit.

Read more ...

Guest lecture by Adam Grant on May 15th

AdamGrant - credit Mike Albiani 2 Cropped

As a part of the 2017 Summit, the Business for Peace Foundation offers a truly exciting guest lecture by Adam Grant, professor at Wharton Business School. The lecture will be held at the University Aula at 14:00 on May 15th, and is open to the public.

Drawing on his #1 New York Times bestselling book Originals, Adam Grant will discuss how we can all get better at recognizing and championing new ideas, how to overcome fear and doubt and how to build cultures that welcome diverse perspectives and honest feedback. Grant’s insights on unleashing originality have been praised by J.J. Abrams, Richard Branson, Malcolm Gladwell, and Sheryl Sandberg, and this talk brings them to life in ways that are both surprising and entertaining.

Click here to register for a free ticket.

Save a seat at Oslo Business for Peace Award Ceremony already today!

Award Ceremony

We are delighted to invite you to the 2017 Oslo Business for Peace Award Ceremony! The celebration of the 2017 Honourees will take place at the Oslo City Hall on the 16th of May from 16:00 to 17:30. We welcome you to reserve your seat today, by filling out this form. Find out more about the ceremony on our Facebook page.

Press release: Elon Musk wins the Oslo Business for Peace Award 2017

Winners Collage instagram

Elon Musk is one of four winners of this year’s Oslo Business for Peace Award. He is given the prize for his pioneer work within sustainable transportation. The Honourees will receive the award in a ceremony in Oslo City Hall on the 16th of May.

The three other winners are Durreen Shahnaz, Dr Harley Seyedin and Murad Al-Katib.

Durreen Shahnaz receives the award for her work in spearheading the transformation of the way financial and capital markets work, focusing on purpose and maximising impact. Her work in Impact Investment Exchange Asia (IIX), the world’s first stock exchange dedicated to social enterprises – which she founded in 2009, has positively impacted 10 million lives to date.

Dr Harley Seyedin is an Iranian immigrant to USA, who has spent his life building a multi-national electricity and low carbon infrastructure development business with great success in China and the Philippines. He has lived more than 20 years in China and for the past nine years he has held the position as president of the American Chamber of Commerce in South China.

Murad Al-Katib, son of Turkish immigrants to Canada, receives the Award for his entrepreneurship in leading the way in sustainable agriculture and contributing to feeding millions of refugee families in the Syrian crisis.

Elon Musk receives the Award for his leadership of the way forward in the automotive industry, and for his showcasing of business’ ability to help confront and solve the world’s most demanding and complex problems. The battery technology of Tesla has recently been successfully combined with solar energy in his company SolarCity, USA’s second largest provider of solar systems.

The full justification from the Award Committee can be read here.

The announcement of the 2017 Honourees was made by Secretary General John Danilovich of the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) at an event in Oslo City Hall on the 28th of March, hosted by the governing mayor of Oslo, Raymond Johansen.

Committee of Nobel Laureates

An independent committee of five Nobel Laureates in peace and economics selects the Honourees from a pool of nominees put forward by the UN Development Program, UN Global Compact and the International Chamber of Commerce. The Award Committee members are Nobel laureates Ouided Bouchamaoui, Dr Shirin Ebadi, Leymah Gbowee, Finn Kydland and Michael Spence.

The four Honourees will receive the award in a ceremony in Oslo City Hall on the 16th of May, as part of the annual Business for Peace Summit. The theme for this year’s Summit is “Brundtland + 30 – Breakthrough Ideas for Futureproofing the Global Economy.” Dr Gro Harlem Brundtland herself will give the key note speech.

About the Business for Peace Foundation

The Oslo Business for Peace Award is granted by the Business for Peace Foundation. The Oslo based Foundation honour individual leaders who in an ethical and responsible way create value for business and society, and thereby help to build a peaceful and prosperous environment where all can thrive. The Foundation’s vision is that all business leaders have as their purpose to improve society — to be businessworthy.

Contact: Communication Director Elisabeth Skarsbø Moen +47 9133 5103.

For updates on the Summit and Award ceremony, follow The Business for Peace Foundation on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and Instagram


Google Analytics